Stipula Saturno

QM2

http://www.giardino.it/pens/stipula/IMMAGINI/saturnoVaperta.jpg

My first Stipula is on its way! It is the Stipula Saturno from Giardino Italiano. This is a lovely deep-green ebonite flat-top with sterling silver trim and a crescent fill mechanism. I ordered the 1.1 stub. When I first saw this pen for sale, I just could not believe it: It fits my taste in pens so well that it is almost too good to be true. I guess we will see!

In the meanwhile, I have some questions for Saturno owners:

One thing I am wondering, is how is the ebonite on these pens? Is it prone to discolouration and does it require special treatment? I have black modern ebonite pens and vintrage HRs, and they are all very durable. However, I have no experience with Stipula or with coloured ebonite. Should I be more concerned about water and direct light with this pen than with black ebonites?

I am also curious about the filling mechanism. How easy is the crescent filler to operate and rinse out? I have no experience with these as of yet. Are they more complicated than levers? What are some things to keep in mind or watch out for when filling or cleaning?

Anything else you want to tell me about your pen, would be much appreciated! I am particularly interested in whether you use it on a regular basis.

Many thanks!

QM2

Edited by QM2

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• QM2

• Doug C

• callida

• Rufus

Top Posters In This Topic

This is one of my 'grail' pens, I although I want it in the yellow 'mustardy' color that most people think is ugly. I like it.

I have a Chromo, which is it's kin (more or less the same basic design with a sleeve filler instead, and back ebonite with yellow end caps instead of the same color ebonite through the body), and it is very nicely made. There are a few QC issues with it, however, like a clip that extends from the body. It is in Italy right now getting the clip corrected and a new nib.