Info on this Waterman 52

Kbbond172

I am very new to the vintage pens but knew I wanted a waterman.  Browsing eBay I came upon this pen that looked to be a good condition 52 with “2 18k gold bands” and the price was pretty decent at $180.  The time remaining was short so I didn’t have much time to research so I took a gamble and won the pen.  Since then I really haven’t found much or even similar waterman’s (hopefully I wasn’t overly hasty) so I was wondering if anyone can tell me more about this pen, was it a good buy or did I get duped?  Seller said pen does fill and write properly.  Thanks!

IMG_3502.jpeg

IMG_3503.jpeg

IMG_3504.jpeg

IMG_3505.jpeg

IMG_3506.jpeg

IMG_3507.jpeg

IMG_3508.jpeg

IMG_3509.jpeg

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Kbbond172

• pen lady

• davisgt

• GlenV

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

As long as the tipping on the nib is good, it should write well with reasonable flexibility. It looks like the original clip is missing and it has an accommodation clip though.  I wouldn't trust the sac unless it has been replaced recently, are you up to doing that repair yourself?  You might not want to practice on an antique hard black rubber pen that cost you $180.  Just sayin'😉

Thanks!  I was kinda wondering about the clip, looked like the right shape but no text so that was a little concerning, but not the end of the world if everything else is good (pretty much just use clips as a roll-stop anyway 😂).  I always heard to assume a pen hasn’t been restored even if they say it has, so I was planning on looking at the sac right away to see its condition.  

do you have a good recommendation for someone who can work on the nib and sac if either are needed?