The "Pen with No Name"

North Yorkie

This is an unnamed pen which I bought off the 'Bay purely out of curiosity (It only cost £3, so was not a great gamble). As you will see from the photos, it has a chisel top to the metal cap, which is finished in a gilt colour. The clip is plain with parallel sides, has no markings and is joined to the cap by, what I believe is referred to as 'stapling'. The cap is inscribed with fine circles around most of its circumference.

It is a piston-filler but the filler seems to be one piece with the section/hood. At least I have not been able to remove it.  So it would seem that it was not a cartridge filler to which a converter was subsequently added, but was designed and built as a piston-filler from the start. I have not tried to remove the nib from the hooded section as I have no experience of this.  The section has a small Perspex? window just before the single thin band. The barrel has no markings at all but it does have matching blue jewel on the blind cap (a bit 'Parkeresque' perhaps?).

My rough guess is that this is from the 60's or 70's. Has anyone any suggestions as to what it might be?

Pen with No Name blind cap.jpg

Pen with No Name cap.jpg

Pen with No Name plunger filler.jpg

Pen with No Name.jpg

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• North Yorkie

• Format

• Paul-in-SF

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I would call that filler arrangement a captured converter. Most converters work on the piston model, and so do most captured converters; I guess what makes them "captured" is that they are not designed to be removable (for cleaning or repair). What makes them different from most piston fillers is that the whole mechanism is enclosed within the barrel and it's not using the barrel for ink storage.

The cap definitely has a 70s "modern" vibe to me, while the barrel jewel is a bit of a throwback to earlier times. So the whole thing is kind of transitional.