Identifying a Parker 51

GeoffMartin

I spent the afternoon sorting out the 51s in my collection, using the information at http://www.parkercollector.com/parker51.html.
However, to simplify things, I drew up a decision chart that might be useful for others. I don't know if this has been done before, so if it has, apologies for the spam.

Comments & suggestions for corrections or additions are very welcome!

parker_51_dating.thumb.png.5b0582f29a6fe102ac64ec317ad09c2c.png

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• GeoffMartin

• Glenn-SC

• Armo

• Mechanical

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I will be interested to see where you fit in the Red Band and the C/C fillers and the Demis.  
Are you planning on adding Single and Double jeweled Vacs?

Adding footnotes for parts interchangeability messing with the whole logic scheme?

I am not an Expert, but, IMHO, It’s a wonderful effort and appreciated. 

Next steps:
- single vs double-jewelled

- demis

- notes regarding date formats and USA / UK variants

parker_51_dating.thumb.png.dff7ccd90fcfe2550a42493612ec3606.png

I found this quite helpful, @GeoffMartin.  From the first chart, I knew my Parker was a MkII-B (1950- ), but the notes added in the second version narrowed it down to a MkII-B between  1954-1956. 

The decision tree format is very friendly.

Currently most used pen:  Parker 51 (F) - R&K Salix

Were there not “double jewel” models post 1941?  Your flow chart seems to require that all pens with a “tassie ring on blind cap” to also have the “date imprint on the blind cap”.  Only the 1941 pens had the imprint on the blind cap.  I’ll have to check how late the double jeweled version was made.

I got a reference for the double-jewel dates.  According to David Nishimura (vintagepens.com):