I just found this mini-documentary on YouTube and found it fascinating so I thought I'd share it. 

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 2ouvenir

• Karmachanic

• Number99

Top Posters In This Topic

Since I am not an expert, I have done a little research and put together a summary of it.

It seems that ink sticks are all handmade even today.

Because the glue rots when it is warm, the workshop can only knead soot in the cold winter.

Therefore, the amount of ink sticks that can be produced in one workshop is limited.

The raw materials for soot include 手焚き油煙 "hand-burning oil soot" (50,000-60,000 Japanese yen per kg), which is extracted by burning vegetable oil and pine trees, and carbon black (several hundred Japanese yen per kg), which is a byproduct of oil mining.

As for the price of ink sticks, the former is expensive while the latter is inexpensive, equivalent to US$1 each for student use.

The skill of the technicians who make them also differs between high-end and low-cost products.

The red Sumi-ink ink sticks used by brush-calligraphy teachers to correct their students' work are manufactured in a specialized workshop. This is because the manufacturing process is different and mixing the black with the red would ruin both the tools and the facility. It also takes more than twice as long to produce because the sticks are harder to harden.

There is only one workshop in Japan that makes red ink sticks.

Incidentally, 墨汁 Sumi-ink, which is sold as a liquid ink, is also made from carbon black and other materials, and became popular after the size of these particles was successfully adjusted.

Some people have collections of dozens of these expensive inksticks. In fact, Chinese inksticks, both old and new, are beautiful and varied in shape and decoration.

The fact that these collectors create demand may be one reason for the existence of extremely expensive ink sticks.

Some links. (China and Taiwan.)