Dating a Cross Century, roughly

Cuppatea

Just bought an old Cross fountain pen in an antique shop. I'm new to Cross. Gold plated F nib. Can anyone help with the date, approximately? A clue: there is a full box of cartridges with a price of $1.25 penciled on. The booklet order form says same box for $1.00.

There is a box but no outer sleeve.

thanks!

IMG_0156.jpeg

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Cuppatea

• Penguincollector

• rff000

• dadbar

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I would say it’s ‘80s to early ‘90s probably. 1984 was when they reissued a fountain pen (for the US market, not sure about elsewhere) and they changed logos and box designs in the ‘90s and then again recently. What color is the box cover?

Top 5 of 24 currently inked pens:

MontBlanc 144 IB, Herbin Orange Indien/ Wearingeul Frost

Salz Peter Pan 18k gold filled filligree fine flex/ Waterman Serenity Blue 

Brute Force Designs resin pen FNF ultraflex, Herbin Lie de Thé/Wearingeul Emerald Castle

Pilot Silvern Dragon IB, Iroshizuku Kiri-Same

Wahl-Eversharp Skyline F Flex, R&K “Blue-Eyed Mary”

always looking for penguin fountain pens and stationery 

Thanks! Here is the box. There is a small round silver sticker on the end with F in red. 

image.jpg

Edited by Cuppatea
Add info

My Century’s box is really similar and it’s from the mid ‘90s. 

Brute Force Designs resin pen FNF ultraflex, Herbin Lie de Thé/Wearingeul Emerald Castle

Anytime, sorry that it can’t get more specific. Cross doesn’t do date codes.

• 1 month later...

It looks like a dead ringer for my original Cross Century, bought somewhere in the 80's from the fountain pen counter in a JC Penney's store. Here is a photo. The dent in the barrel was caused by my driving over it in my 1969 Plymouth Valiant. Cross replaced the broken parts but left me the memento of a dented barrel. Note, not a "Classic" Century and not a Century II, but just a plain old Cross Century.

cross_cent.jpg