Vintage pens for everyday carry?

rjv

Hi folks, I'm new to FPN and I'm curious as to how many of us carry vintage fountain pens around as our everyday carry.  How old is the oldest pen you carry with you everyday?  I have an early 1980s Sheaffer Connaisseur in my pocket most of the time, though I'm not sure that it qualifies as vintage.

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 51ISH

• rjv

• PAKMAN

• corniche

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

For many of us, the answer to this question is going to be:
aerometric Parker “51” 👍

I rotate between my pens, so the same ones are not always with me, but one or other of my 1950s aerometric Parker “51”s is often with me.
If one is using dye-based inks, IMO the aerometric “51” is still ‘the ultimate writing machine’ for office use.

My 1950s aerometric “51”s are the oldest pens that I habitually carry.

I also often carry my 1970s & 1980s Parker 75s.

Many will also cite the Parker 45.
I have two all-stainless-steel 45s, one from the early 1970s and the other from the late 1970s.

I often carry a 1970s Parker 25.

I suspect that 1950s-1960s Pelikan pistion-fill pens (e.g. 400, 400N, and 400NN) will also appear often in replies to this thread.

And probably also some vintage Montblancs, and Lamy 2000s.

large.Mercia45x27IMG_2024-09-18-104147.PNG.4f96e7299640f06f63e43a2096e76b6e.PNG  Foul in clear conditions, but handsome in the fog.  spacer.png

I do not take my vintage pens to work 

Mark from the Latin Marcus follower of mars, the god of war.

Yorkshire Born, Yorkshire Bred. 

my current favourite author is Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

largebronze-letter-exc.pngflying-letter-exc.png

1 hour ago, Mercian said:

For many of us, the answer to this question is going to be:
aerometric Parker “51” 👍

I rotate between my pens, so the same ones are not always with me, but one or other of my 1950s aerometric Parker “51”s is often with me.