Fountain Pen Found In Japanese Shipwreck

darhubsch

Hello,

I'm a scuba diving instructor working on a liveaboard cruise ship operating in Truk Lagoon, Micronesia. We dive on Japanese shipwrecks sunk during WW2. A few months ago I discovered a fountain pen inside the crew quarters of one of the ships. It's made of a hard plastic and has the inscription

"The Seito"

Aoshima Manufacturing Co

Made in Tokyo, Japan

I know this is a fairly esoteric post but I wondered if any if the forumgoers here would have any knowledge of the production of this particular item. Thanks! I can provide pictures if anyone is interested.

Dar

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• darhubsch

• Karmachanic

• Number99

• seven4times

Yes, we want pictures!

I think you have to make a few more posts before you can upload, but maybe you could link to imgur.

Doesn't work that way. You've gotta have 12 posts or 25 posts or some number I don't remember.

Looking forward to seeing pics sometime.

Meanwhile someone may come along who knows something about that pen.

Can posting rep!ies and simple comments on other threads get you to the minimum required quickly?

Pen or ink threads, yes.

Chatter threads, no.

Darhubsch could tell us more about the pen.

Approximate length, width. Is the pen open or capped, covered in anemones or corals. How was it found?

Okay here is a link to a photo

https://imgur.com/a/QpHhKh0

Its open, i didnt find a cap although it should have one. It was buried in the silt so it required very little cleaning. Its a dark brown almost tortoiseshell color although it appears black.

Wow, that is in very good condition considering! Did you pull there nib or wasn't there one?

Edited by SoulSamurai