Montblanc Hallmarking

BigBear63

Hi, I'm new to FPN so thought I'd do my first post on a subject that seems to be a regular on the Montblanc forum and one that causes many sleepless nights for avid collectors and writers alike.

I'm not a collector but I do own a small number of Montblancs. I'm more of an appreciator of fine things. I would definitely love to own more beautiful pens when my bank balance allows. I don't ever expect to own one of the mega expensive limited editions or Hommage pens, but who knows.

I recently purchased a Meisterstuck 1441 Solitaire Doue on eBay and though the photos were indistinct the seller was reputable and there was enough specific info about the pen to be confident of its authenticity. I still got the jitters after I won the item and paid for it. When it arrived I checked all the various aspects of the pen, packaging and paperwork to assure my self all was above board.

Well my worries were put to rest. The pen is in excellent condition and having never been inked.

The precious resin has a lovely wine red translucence to it when I shine a bright light through the body, which I believe is a good sign of authenticity.

The silver cap has all the correct markings on it. These include the Pix under the clip, the serial number, GERMANY, METAL2 etched on the top cap ring, and most importantly 4 Hallmarks on it.

Rather than try and take a poor photo of my pen I found this great one of the hallmarks on FPN. They include the Ag925, which indicates Silver of 92.5% purity. This mark is only valid if the correct hallmarks are included, such as the International Common Control Mark (925 in a set of jewellers scales), or the Assay Office stamp (in MB's case always a Bears Head in a Hexagon, which is the Swiss Assay mark)

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4135/4775679016_2ef924ef46.jpg