Hard-Starting On The Down Stroke

Portia_of_Belmont

Hi all! I'm fairly new to fps and was hoping I could tap into the immense knowledge and expertise that exists among the members of FPN to help troubleshoot an issue.

I've got a new Levenger True Writer M nib that is hard-starting and skips on the down stroke. Even after I write with it for awhile, it continues to skip on the down stroke after I lift the nib off the page (i.e., to start a new word). In every other direction it writes beautifully -- smooth and wet. I've been writing with it consistently for about a week and haven't noticed improvement. I've tried numerous different kinds of paper (CF, Rhodia, copy paper, etc.) and have the same experience on all of them. It's currently inked with DeA Alexander Hamilton, and I haven't tried any other inks yet. There's a picture below showing what's going on.

Any ideas?

post-112590-0-50137100-1404238152_thumb.jpg

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Portia_of_Belmont

• Precise

• SoulSamurai

• jar

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

First off, I'd take a look to the nib to see if there's any misaligning or uneven nib contact with the paper. That being said, I have two Levengers, and one of them has an inexplicable problem with this sort of hard-start and I've been unable to figure out why, even under magnification.

I love that ink. I didn't have any trouble writing with it in a Lamy Al-Star (broad nib) and would even say that it was a bit wet.

Did you clean the pen before you used it the first time? It's always suggested (but I never do) to prevent problems.

In any case, if it was me, I would clean the pen out, try another ink on a variety of papers, and see how that goes. If it still won't go, I'd return or exchange it for another. Levenger pens haven't been my favorite, but I know that's a matter of taste.