Most Long Term Durable Pen?

palapiku

Hello, I'd like your opinion on how should a pen be designed for maximum long-term durability - let's say, centuries of use. Let's also suppose there are no spare parts anywhere.

My own thoughts:

* Eye dropper construction - pistons have gaskets which can't possibly be very durable.

* Metal body, metal threads, interior lined with some kind of high-tech modern plastic. Not sure on this one. Maybe a metal like titanium could resist corrosion without a lining? Solid gold would, of course, but gold is a bit too soft for threads anyway.

* Either a really tough clip, or no clip at all.

* Of course, the nib and the feed section should be easy to extract and the entire pen easily disassembled for cleaning.

* Plastic feed section (ebonite is brittle and probably less durable than good modern plastics).

* Hooded nib?

* Rigid, broad, 18K gold nib I suppose?

I'm a total newbie to fountain pens - please correct any misconceptions I might have.

Do any existing pens approach these requirements?

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• jar

• wallylynn

• Oranges and Apples

• balson

Top Posters In This Topic

The Pilot M90.

Cartridge converter filling system. Either fill with a cartridge or converter and either one can be filled via eyedropper.

It has a full stainless steel construction.

The clip is a large piece of stainless steel.

The nib is the body but you do not need to fully disassemble this pen to be cleaned but if needed the body and the nib is a single piece and the feed could be punched out.

The feed itself is of a plastic and is not made out of ebonite.

Not sure what a hooded nib has to do with durability.

It is stainless steel. Yes, rigid. Broad, I do not believe it comes in this size but does come in a medium point.

I would argue the opposite to most of your materials criteria.