Pilot Vs Platinum Vs Sailor

cnjackson

Dear All,

I've been considering trying a pen by one of these brands, and I wanted to ask a quick question.

Reading through FPN, I notice periodic comments and reservations about the "feel" of the plastic for these brands. For example it seems that a few people have felt that Platinum's plastic bodies have a less solid feel.

I wonder if some of you could compare the feel of the plastic for these pens (maybe the Platinum 3776, Sailor 1911 Full size, and the Pilot 823)?

Thanks very much!

Chris

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• cnjackson

• Dillo

• brunico

• WaskiSquirrel

I understand exactly what you mean. The feel of a pen is important and, as a recent buyer of two Platinum pens and a long term user of a Pilot Bamboo, I can write about the difference between these plastics.

I have no experience of Sailor pens. The platinum a were bought because I thought from my reading that the Platinums would be better.

First, the Bamboo: it is a big, 5.75" capped, 6.75 posted and, at 35g, heavy. All measurements are mine. The black plastic is shiny, but not very shiny and the walls are thick. This gives it a very solid feel, much like the (metal) Capless.

By contrast, Pelikan and Montblanc pens feel thin and light. The Platinums, similarly, fell light and thin-walled. The black plastic is more shiny than the Bamboo and has a somehow warmer feel to it. Frankly, I didn't like the look of the black Platinum 3776 Century, but I bought it solely for its nib - this looks fantastic and writes even better. I bought the Ultra Extra Fine. I am now a great fan of Platinum. I took delivery of a Chartre Blue with Extra Fine nib yesterday and it looks fabulous. I've tried taking photos of the colour, but I can't do it justice. If you have ever seen light coming through Bristol Blue glass ( or, I'm sure, Chartre Cathederal's stained glass) you'll know the colour it is.