Anyone Modd'ed Their Pilot 78G?

pokermon

I've seen the vid of the guy widening the feed to get his 78g to write "wetter" but has anyone tried to add flex to this nib? It seems somewhat springy so maybe a good candidate for some flex? I'm new to fountain pens and so far have acquired a 78g, a Jinhao 750, Twsbi 540(birthday present), Montblanc 146, and a few platinum preppys.

It seems the feed/nib and easily removeable so would grounding down the area behind the tines and between the shoulders give it some flex? I'm looking for a pen that is semi-flex to flexy, and searching vintage has been a bit hard trying to compete with other bidders on fleabay.

Would like others to chime in on any other modifications they've done to the 78g. I really like this pen and since its so affordable its worth experimenting with and not worry too much about messing up a rather easily replaceable pen.

-Tommy

Pen blog of current inventory

Enjoy life, and keep on writing!

-Tommy

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• pokermon

• lovemy51

• KrazyIvan

• ebluegrass

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I've seen the vid of the guy widening the feed to get his 78g to write "wetter" but has anyone tried to add flex to this nib? It seems somewhat springy so maybe a good candidate for some flex? I'm new to fountain pens and so far have acquired a 78g, a Jinhao 750, Twsbi 540(birthday present), Montblanc 146, and a few platinum preppys.

It seems the feed/nib and easily removeable so would grounding down the area behind the tines and between the shoulders give it some flex? I'm looking for a pen that is semi-flex to flexy, and searching vintage has been a bit hard trying to compete with other bidders on fleabay.

Would like others to chime in on any other modifications they've done to the 78g. I really like this pen and since its so affordable its worth experimenting with and not worry too much about messing up a rather easily replaceable pen.

-Tommy