Inexpensive Notebooks For University Notes

Sergey

A new semester is about to start. :vbg:

However, some of us have yet to invest in school supplies ... :blush:

Forking out the cash for a moleskine or a likeness seems wasteful and unnecessary.

Notebooks must be light to carry a few in a backpack at a time, yet large enough to cover a full semester's worth of notes.

Preservation is not a priority -- reference to said notebooks will eventually be unwarranted. :lol:

What are your favorite lined paper notebooks appropriate for a university setting?

(Further: Perhaps this topic was best suited for the discussion forum and not the review forum.) :headsmack:

Edited by Sergey

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• JeanManuel

• imadeadend

• whitedot

• amberleadavis

I am a high school agriscience teacher. I make extensive use of marble cover composition notebooks as lab notebooks-I require my students to use them. I came upon a brand at our local "almost but not quite dollar" store, Bazic made in India. The pages are quite thin, but I write almost exclusively with fountain pens or Sharpie pens. The paper doesn't feather or bleed through. It does have some show-through, but it has show-through with pencil. I paid 75 cents apiece for these notebooks.

I also use the Norcom comp books from Walmart. I look for the ones made in Brazil. Again, thin sheets with show through but no feathering or bleed through. I think the last batch I purchased cost 94 cents each, but you might find a sale and get them for less. Make it point to only buy the ones made in Brazil, the paper is so much better than the Vietnam version.

There will be 24 and higher pound lined and punched foolscap at business supply stores.

Some combos work great with 20 pound cheapy stuff.

(Quink and a Parker Centennial Duofold was a nice surprise with it.)

Edited by torstar