Has Baystate Blue damaged your Lamy?

bpendleton

83 members have voted

1. 1. Do you have a Lamy that's been damaged (requiring repair, not temporarily and fixed by cleaning) while using Baystate Blue in it?

• Yes, repaired under warranty service
    • Yes, not repaired
    • No, but I flush BSB out regularly
    • No, I regularly leave BSB in my Lamy
    • No, I have never used BSB in my Lamy

I just bought some Baystate Blue. Like many, I love it.

So far, I've put it in a Pilot Petit1. However, since I own a blue Lamy Safari, it seems appropriate to use Baystate Blue there, if I can convince myself its safe. I don't care about a stained convertor, I'm just nervous about melting the feed, which has been widely alleged.

As a graduate student, I know that data says a lot more about a problem than speculation. I also know, unfortunately, that a self-selecting poll is going to tend to highlight the extreme cases - so, whatever happens in this poll, remember that it *probably* over-represents problems with BSB. But at least it'll be some idea.

Also, I only ask about Lamy's in the poll because it seems to be the butt of many of the complaints. Feel free to mention other pens, non-serious damage (staining, of course...) etc. in the discussion.

Thanks everyone!

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Possum Hill

• tanesiir

• KCat

• bpendleton

Im with you... i didn't care about the 'stained converter' issue. I just wanted the fantastic color of BSB. No damage what-so-ever.

I recently did stop using the color however because it bled through everything I write on except my journal.

Dave

Edited by Nitesiter07

Pilot VP 'Stealth', .8mm Stub - Waterman Florida Blue

TWSBI, F Nib - Noodlers Habanero * Online, M Nib - Waterman Florida Blue

Mont Blanc 144 Platinum, F Nib - Waterman Florida Blue * Lamy 2000, XF Nib - Nano Black

Lamy Safari, 1.1, 1.5 & 1.9 mm Italic Nibs - Baystate Blue