Which pen to use for writing music?

FredCouples

Hi everybody,

I am looking for a fountain pen which is suited to write music with (note heads, flags, bars, accidentals etc.). On this board I found a discussion about an Osmiroid pen which seemed to have a music nib (#17245, please see attached picture). Since these nibs seem to come up once every decade or so (and since the whole Osmiroid universe seems to be rather complex for a beginner) I would like to ask you, the community of pen experts, which other pen I could use to do musical calligraphy with.

I attach the first page of a book by Glen Rosecrans from 1976 where he refers to the above mentioned Osmiroid pen, but also to a Pelikan 120 with oblique medium tip. Since I am a musician (not yet a collector) I am looking for a practical solution, a pen which could do what it should, and which is rather robust and easy to use, easy to come by and to maintain. I also attach a couple of pages from this book with examples of musical notation so that you can get an impression of what this pen should be able to do.

I would be very happy if you would share your wisdom with me! ;)

Best regards from Vienna

FredCouples

Musical_Calligraphy__p.1_2.pdf

Musical_Calligraphy__p.7_8.pdf

Musical_Calligraphy__p.9_10.pdf

Musical_Calligraphy__p.11_12.pdf

Musical_Calligraphy__p.13_14.pdf

Musical_Calligraphy__p.19_20.pdf

Musical_Calligraphy__p.21_22.pdf

post-30180-1241201182_thumb.jpg

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• musorah

• FredCouples

• Deirdre

• The Grim Sheaffer

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Sailor and Platinum do music nibs as well, so those would be worth having a look at.

http://twitter.com/pawcelot

Vancouver Pen Club

Currently inked:

Montegrappa NeroUno Linea - J. Herbin Poussière de Lune //. Aurora Optima Demonstrator - Aurora Black // Varuna Rajan - Kaweco Green // TWSBI Vac 700R - Visconti Purple