Pen for doing math

acyso

Hi -- I'm pretty new to fountain pens. I recently discovered the awesomeness of using them and I now already have a MB 146 and a Lamy Studio. But I've found that either of them don't really work very well when I am trying to do math, so I'm looking for one that writes a little sharper. I realize that this mostly has to do with my nib, but I am also happy with the nibs I am using on the other two pens. I've been looking at the new Pilot M90 or a Pilot VP. Any suggestions? My price range probably is topped at around $250.

Thanks a lot in advance!

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Daosus

• acyso

• dmmcf

• MJSchuelke

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I would probably take a chance and buy another Sailor either a Professional Gear or a large 1911. I got an EF and it was a very thin and scratchy nib. I would probably go for a Fine nib if I were to buy another Sailor.

Pelikan 200 with xf nib from Richard Binder.

PAKMAN

minibanner.gif                                    Vanness-world-final.png.c1b120b90855ce70a8fd70dd342ebc00.png

My Favorite Pen Restorer                                             My Favorite Pen Store

Vanness Pens - Selling Online!

I have never found a fountain pen that was any good at doings Maths, so I switched to a calculator. ;)

For a kind of cheapy from Speerbob, a Filcao with a fine nib. It's what I use for scoring music. It gives good definition and totally reliable with a nice old fashioned handmade look.

Thanks

For math and calculations, I use a Nakaya pen with a fine nib. In a pinch (i.e. not carrying a Nakaya or Platinum), a Pilot fine or western EF works ok. I find that the Pelikan EF is more like a fine and still too broad.

So I would suggest trying a Platinumm/Nakaya fine or extra fine. Alternatively, have a nibmeister grind a nib down to the right size (XXF or even an XXXF).