Hero 336

sljm12

This is my first review here, hope i didn't do too badly :). Please pardon my pictures, it's my first time photographing a pen.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3294/3140163836_deb9aa2f08.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3075/3139331553_603635d064.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3131/3139333141_71efb64514.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3180/3140162094_1ce890345d.jpg

1 First Impressions (7/10) – It's a bit heavier than what I imagined it would weigh as the whole pen looks very plasticky. But what caught my eye was the gold cap and the price of $1.20 SGD/Singapore Dollar for a fountain pen.

2 Appearance & Design (7/10) – The Hero 336 follows a Parker 51 kind of design. The pen cap is gold in color and the pen body is in plastic. The filling sac inside is made of semi transparent plastic and is covered with a metal body. The nib itself is hooded like the Parker 51.

3 Weight & Dimensions (7/10) – The pen is about 12cm and with the cap posted 15cm. The pen feels more balanced if the cap was posted while writing. The pen does feels abit light for me when i write and i do tend to prefer a heavier pen.

4 Nib & Performance (6/10) – This pen writes with a fine/extra fine tip. It is not stated anywhere what size the tip is other than it's made of iridium. Filled it with Pelikan Black and Noodler's Eel Blue. The nib is quite scratchy and very hard. There were some postings on the internet that they used it as a dart in school!. It writes dryly, tried it ion normal printing paper and in my journal (A journal bought from Ikea) doesn't soak through at all. The nib size is small enough for me to do my morning paper's sudoku on my way to work.

5 Filling System (7/10) - It uses a non removable Aerometric filling system that means you can't use carts with it. It takes probably about 10 squeezes to fill the pen. And with the sac being transparent, you can see how much ink is left in the pen. Nothing wrong with it, it gets the job done.