Vintage Japanese Demonstrator

sumgaikid

While in my Parker 51 period about 4 or 5 years ago,I picked up this pen on fleabay thinking that maybe I had won a

Parker 51 demonstrator. When I received it,even as a novice I could tell that it wasn't a 51 demonstrator at all. At the

time I thought that I had spent too much money for it and just put it away. Having been in this forum for a little while,I

have rethought my position on the pen and decided to post some pics of it to get an idea of who made it,when it was

made(my guess--in the 50's)and some opinions on it.

Here is the pen capped:

Here is the "Phoenix Special no. 3" nib:

The inscription on the side reads "HO+PE(N?)

Just underneath that--------------"Made in Japan

And underneath that--------------"Tokyodo"

(It is hard to see the inscription,hence the info):

I look forward to getting the info on it,and my thanks in advance to those who can tell me what it is.

John

Irony is not lost on INFJ's--in fact,they revel in it.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• stan

• sumgaikid

• Pentangeli

Top Posters In This Topic

Congratulations!

Wonderful pen. In Japan, the term demonstrator is not used and very few true demonstrators were made. For clear see-through pens like yours the term 'skeleton pen' is used. Like yours, most have plated nibs. although, I've seen one of two with 14K. Your pen looks like it's in excellent condition and will be a real eye-catcher when you take it to work.

They seemed to be relatively popular in the early 1950s and they have gotten harder and harder to find in such good condition. Made by many companies, they have as many brand names. If you're lucky you find with the name of the maker. I've seen Platinum, Rieyon, Platon, Victor, and a few others.

As a suggestion, do not use red ink unless you like a pink pen. Stick with blue as it is the easiest to clean.

Regards.

stan

Formerly Ryojusen Pens