Sheaffer Pen Identification Help

Captspiff

Any idea what the pen in the middle is?I think it might be a flat top junior with the wrong cap? I am just getting into Sheaffer collecting so any info or know that can be imparted on me would be greatly appreciated.

post-144376-0-88310400-1537505693_thumb.jpg

post-144376-0-37193100-1537505882_thumb.jpg

Edited by Captspiff

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Captspiff

• Roger W.

• Freddy

• JonSzanto

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

It is a K74SC. K is for black and pearl also called "DeLuxe". 74 is the size nib. S is for Short and C is for Clip. Not sure why you think it is the wrong cap. "Junior" is not a designation for this pen.

Roger W.

Thanks for all the info! That make sense sorry I am new to this just learning the models and thanks for correcting my mistake.

Not sure why you think it is the wrong cap.

I think there is a pretty straight-forward reason for this, Roger: take off your Sheaffer expert/knowledge hat for a moment and put yourself in the place of a person new to the hobby. You look at a pen and you see one end is flat and one end is pointed. You've done some basic looking at photos of old pens and you see pens with flat ends and pens with pointy/rounded ends; what you don't see - unless you spend a lot of time looking, not something a new person has done - what you don't see is a mix of the two end styles.

I think it's a valid assumption for a new person to make: "Is this a mismatch?"

Sometimes you have to take a step or two back to view things from another person's perspective.