Esterbrook Nib Disassembly

mdp666

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie just getting into pen repair. I found my grandparents pens and have restored some to almost mint condition and am loving the process of restoration, writing with my fountain pens, and having a historical and cognitive link to my grandparents whom have both passed on.

Do Esterbrook nibs come apart? I have removed the nib from the section but does the nib itself break down into the nib, feed, and sleeve? I'm hoping to pull it apart to ensure that it's clean. If so, how do I this without causing damage to any of the parts. I'm reluctant to just start pulling away or twisting on the nib. Another pen that I restored, much older and a different brand, had a nib and feed that were easily pulled out for cleaning. Any help/advice that can be provided is most appreciated.

Cheers,

Monty

fpn_1413522707__nib_chart.jpg

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• gweimer1

• pollandakuma

• mdp666

• Peppers

For cleaning, I wouldn't recommend tearing the whole thing apart. A good ultrasonic rinse and flush should suffice. You also run a guitar string down the channel to make sure it's clear. There is some risk in taking the nib assembly apart. I've done it to replace bad nibs, or to use a non-Esterbrook nib. There have been some casualties.

They can be taken apart, but you need to be very careful and use the proper method. I destroyed one collar following the instructions I read on this forum. So the method that worked for one person may not work for you.

And putting the nib assembly back together can be just as tricky, especially if the collar has shrunk.

IOW, if the nib is not damaged/broken or the feed absolutely clogged, I would not disassemble the nib assembly.

I clean my nib assemblies using an USC.

I also use the USC to blast out the dried ink around the nib assembly to be able to unscrew it from the section.

Edited by ac12