Spring A Nib?

BobGast

I am still a newbie but I am trying to get beyond that. :) I did do a bit of research on the subject but I really didn't find a suitable answer. I am afraid of springing the nib on one of my good pens. Particularly a fine nib on my Platinum 3776, Lamy 2000 medium nib, TWSBI EF nib. So I guess the question is, how do you spring a nib? How do you tell if it is sprung? Can it be fixed by myself by doing a little research and figuring out how? What kind of pressure do you actually have to apply, I write lightly but what if you bear now on the nib? I know the old try it and see, but I don't have any spare nibs. Please don't get mad at me for asking what is probably a stupid question.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Luma

• BobGast

• Mauricio

• aeba

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

First I would do a quick search on nib types to get a general idea of what properties each one has... will try to look for a link for you when I am on the PC.

In terms of springing a nib, you will know it happens when the nib is unable to return to its natural state either because it was firm and not meant to flex or if it was flexible but you overflexed. Yadda yadda yadda... also includes all the different examples in between these two circumstances.

You will find there are different stages IMO of 'symptoms'... the first and least fatal is that the line will not be as thin as it used to be. This is not a bad thing so long as you are not applying additional pressure. Under a loupe you will notice a micro separation of the tines. The more damage to the nib, the wider the gap. Depending on the nib, this can be fixed as long as you have the knowledge and know-how to do so... or you can find someone to tune it for you.