Penmanship Newbie, And "circular" Business Handwriting Style.

briarrose

Hello, everyone. :) I'm new here, and I'm looking to improve my everyday handwriting. I was barely taught penmanship in school, and though I can write in cursive, I make a lot of mistakes and stall frequently, even in signing my name while at the cash register (which is pretty embarrassing.) I would like to learn some form of business handwriting, and my plan is to order the Tamblyn Home Instructor in Penmanship. However, while searching around FPN, I came across this exemplar from "The Business Educator" volume 8:

http://oi55.tinypic.com/5jwuih.jpg

I really love this circular style, but this is all I could find on it. I'm wondering if this exemplar alone is enough to go on, since I'm a beginner, and whether I can use it along with the Tamblyn book.

Another question: do any of the alternate letterforms serve a special purpose, or is it my choice when and where to use them?

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• briarrose

• Randal6393

• knarflj

• SuperNib44

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

It is an attractive style, briarrose. I don't know the Tamblyn book, but I would guess you'll want more than just the exemplar if you really want to master the style. You can find volume 8 of the Business Educator here: https://archive.org/details/businesseducator08zane

The page you posted is at the beginning, and I see that there are some lessons immediately following.

The magazine was published by Zaner & Bloser, so perhaps this might help:

http://www.iampeth.com/pdf/arm-movement-method-rapid-writing

Jenny

"To read without also writing is to sleep." - St. Jerome

Hi, BriarRose, Welcome to FPN! :W2FPN:

The Business Hand shown is pretty standard cursive, although a bit more rounded than most. A bit of practice and you should do well with it. Jenny's links should be of great help to you.

Best of luck,

Yours,
Randal