Moore Fountain Pen ...

BrianDiPalma

For Christmas, I received a copy of the Marshall and Oldfield "Pen Repair" book. When my Grandmother saw it, she told me that she had something in the safe that might interest me. After digging around a bit, she found this pen. I've had some trouble finding out much information about it and wondered if anybody here could tell me a little bit more about it. I think it's a Moore safety pen made by the American Fountain Pen Company. The patent date is Sept. 8, 1896. According to an engraving on the pen, it was given as a gift to my great-great-great Grandfather in 1916. So, I would assume it was made closer to that date. It will definitely need either a new nib or a re-tipping. Are correct replacement nibs even an option with a pen this old? I'm also wondering if it looks like it would be restorable otherwise. As this is a family heirloom and I'm just starting out learning how to repair fountain pens, I think I'd want to send this pen to a professional to ensure a better chance of a successful repair. The back portion moves freely and the nib retracts / extends without problem. However, there is what appears to be a small crack in the cap-like piece that is used to extend / retract the nib. It could just be a scratch, but I'm assuming it's a crack. Is this crack something that might prevent the pen from being repairable? And does anybody have any additional information about it (i.e. better guess about a date, model, etc.)? I tried to include some photos that could help for these questions, but if more or different ones are needed, then I can try to do that as well. As a family heirloom, it is priceless and I'd never consider selling it. But, just out of curiosity, what might a pen like this one be 'worth?' Thanks for any assistance that can be offered.

*edited for spelling ...

post-41578-0-32958700-1293637351.jpg

post-41578-0-72280700-1293637371.jpg

post-41578-0-44119700-1293637380.jpg

post-41578-0-94613400-1293637388.jpg