Pronunciations

passenger

Hi all,

I'm new to fountain pens and I've been reading the threads in this forum to familiarize myself with FPs so that I can find one that suits me.

But before I hold my very first FP (which is in the near future), I would like to know how to pronounce a couple of brands: Sheaffer and Lamy.

Is Sheaffer pronounced SHAY-fer? I have a feeling it is not SHEE-fer.

And it is LAM-ee? Or la-MY? When I say it in my head, it's the former.

Sorry if my question sounds pathetic, but it would be more pathetic if I was asking for a specific ink cartridge at a FP shop and I mispronounded the name :doh:

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Sonnet

• BillTheEditor

• passenger

• Dr.Grace

Dear Passenger,

Don't feel bad about having to ask about pronunciations. I'm waiting for two new pens to be delivered in the mail. I can't pronounce either one of them. I would ask for help, but - without looking at my e-mail order - I'm not sure I can SPELL them! :rolleyes:

By the way, BMWRT, I'm still confused about Lamy. Is it LA-mee or la-MEE?

Judybug

So many pens, so little time!

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/5642/postcardde9.png

My Blog: Bywater Wisdom

Lamy is correctly pronounced LAH-mee.

And while I'm being pedantic, rOtring is correctly pronouced ROTE-ring (as if it were two separate words but without any pause between them), not RO-tring. (In German, the name means "red ring.") Yes, I know, the automatic phone answering system in Janesville says it wrong.

sig.jpg.2d63a57b2eed52a0310c0428310c3731.jpg

Well, if LAMY is a German company, the Y would be pronounced as "ue", the u with an umlaut. Kinda like "Camus" in French, I think. That's a tough one for English-speakers, because there's no equivalent vowel.