I accidentally bought a left-handed oblique nib

katherine

Well hi. An embarassing story:

I've been looking for a flexible nib recently, and I thought finding Mabie Todd pens might be a good idea. So I was browsing around ebay, and got distracted by this:

post-10431-1229814793_thumb.jpeg

Turns out it's more flexible than I expected for an italic nib (scarily so!). I found I was writing at a rather odd angle in order to get it to meet the page correctly... odd, I thought, but I've never used an oblique nib before... until I noticed I was writing vertically, down the page. Sound familiar? Then I realised the nib is left-handed oblique! I'm right-handed - so using this must be how it feels for a left-handed person using a right-handed oblique nib!

Now I'm feeling silly for not noticing that when I bought it, because I really like the pen, and the nib feels lovely, but I totally can't use it. I have a very jealous left-handed friend, too, and so as well as feeling silly, I also feel guilty for not giving it to her! She says they're ridiculously hard to find, too. Is that true?

I can't get rid of it, because I like it too much. I can't use it. I think I'm also very indecisive, but I'm not sure.

Oh oh there's an emoticon for this: :headsmack:

Ever wish you'd never seen something in the first place, because your life would be simpler without it!?

Kate (who does not want to become a collector of not-in-use pens)

Kate

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• I am not a number

• katherine

• southpaw

• Bisquitlips

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

A left-foot oblique (like the one above) is generally correct for right-handed people (yes, it does seem a bit strange).

From Richard Binder's website...