The World's Best Notebook...the Quest Continues

Izzywizzy

Hi All,

This is my first post and hope this specific topic hasn't been covered already.

I stumbled on this website quite by accident and blown away by the passion and rich myriad of resources

I recently converted to a fountain pen user and but have always liked nice notebooks, I work as a consultant and have found your writing tools is a further reflection of your professionalism and desire to engage with clients.

However, since taking up fountain pens, I have started to appreciate the finer details with the notebooks as you all know well and tried numerous well known brands as well as a lesser known and still struggle to find the "perfect notebook". Things that matter to me is notebooks staying flat without having to apply force, smooth perfect writing that glides across the page no matter which pen I use, nice size line spacing, good quality spine, page numbering to name a few.

What I found is there were good points in most notebooks, but rarely did one have all/most of them

So I just wanted to get your views on what might the "perfect notebook", hope you would be so kind as to share your thoughts:

1) Plain paper, lined, square or dot grid

2) A5 (13 x 21 or 14.5 x 21) or B5 (A4 seems to be less common)

3) Type of paper, Rhodia, Moleskine, Tomoe River, Maruman, Kokuyo, Leuchtturm etc

4) Size of line spacing, 5.5mm, 6mm, 7mm, 8mm

5) Type of Cover, soft PU, hard cover, plain or textured effect, spiral ring bound etc

6) Page Numbering/Contents Page

7) Front document enclosure similar to Sigel Conceptum

8) Removable dividers to organise info better (post it do something similar)

9) Type of spine binding stitched, glued etc

Thanks!

Izzy

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• BillZ

• Moshe ben David

• Hewson

• Izzywizzy

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic