Platinum #3776 Century Or Pilot Namiki Custom 74

dzarren

Im on a quest for a nice super fine fountain pen.

Ive narrowed by choices down to these two, they are about the same price, 120 USD.

The platinum i can get in Ultra extra fine and the pilot in extra fine.

which is finer? but most importantly, which is awesomer.

If you have both, please let me know anything you feel about the two, or if you have just one of them, tell me what you like about it, or hate!

Im just a student so this will be a major purchase for me, but how else will i do my math.. :)

Thanks for reading!

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• kiavonne

• dspeers58

• Brian C

• dzarren

Top Posters In This Topic

I prefer the Platinum. Pilot nibs always seem to need some tweeking to get them to write wet enough for my tastes. Both are great choices though.

I prefer Pilot nibs; but that said, the nib on my Platinum 3776 Century is decent enough. As for which is finer, I can't really say, as I only have the one Platinum for comparison, and very few really fine nibs. I think the Platinum feels slightly more stiff, but honestly, I like it well enough, and I don't find much in writing difference.

Maybe I've been lucky, but I've never had an issue with Pilot nibs out of the box. I don't count the starter pens like Metropolitans or Preppy's and the like, though I will say the Metro was/is a lot better performer for me than the Preppy or Plaisir in the low end pens.

Scribere est agere.

To write is to act.

Danitrio Fellowship

I have a Platinum #3776 Balance Maestro in Ultra extra fine, and it's really, really fine !

The 14k nib is somewhat flexible, by adding a little pressure you can increase the width; also, it was a little 'scratchy' at the beginning, but improved a lot after a few days of usage.

The pen is lighter than it looks like, the resin it's made of looks 'cheap' compared to my Sailor 1911, but the overall look is good.