Sheaffer Connaisseur Nibs

Brownieeeee

Hi there Sheaffer Fans, got a question about the Connaisseur nib. I always thought they were interchangeable between models. I’ve recently found out this isn't true. Does anyone know the history of theses nibs how may different versions were there and importantly which ones will inter change. I have identified a few different nibs but I just thought some one here could speed me up a bit.

thanks Ian

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Dennis B

• rroossinck

• Univer

• Brownieeeee

Mine is a monotone gold, has scrollwork around the bottom part, says '18k', 'SheafferS', 'made in USA' and something else too small to identify. I only have one Conaisseur so I can't state anything about interchanging. I do have several Balance II's, both the 1 and 2 band type, and my nib assembly is interchangeable.

Hi,

I'm by no means a Connaisseur expert, but I've got a few of these lovely pens, and I've had occasion to learn a thing or two about their nibs.

The "standard" Connaisseur featured a single-color 18K gold nib, as described above.

The Grand Connaisseur featured a larger two-tone 18K nib.

The Levenger Connaisseur variant - the "Seas" model - featured a 14K nib bearing both the Sheaffer and Levenger names.

There are incompatibilities, but to the best of my knowledge they're not strictly model-dependent. Sometime during the life of the Connaisseur, Sheaffer made a running change to the design of the section/nib unit. Early ones are very much like No Nonsense units, with the exception of the gold nib: that is, the section nipple sticks out the back of the section. Later ones have a metal sleeve - not unlike the metal sleeve used in the Targa - attached to the end of the section; the nipple is now down at the bottom of the "well" formed by this sleeve.

The sleeved nib unit may have come into production along with the Grand Connaisseur; at least, I don't know of a GC without the sleeve.